Christ the King Lutheran Church

About us

Following Christ, growing in faith, sharing God's love.

The original ninety-eight charter members.

The original house/chapel on the property is visible to the right.

Our History







A group of Lutherans held a worship service at the St. Clairsville City Municipal Building on November 25, 1956. From December 1956 to April 1958, worship services were held in Grange Hall on the former Belmont County Fairgrounds.

Reverend George Billman was called to serve as "mission developer" beginning in February 1958. Shortly afterward, the "Lutheran Mission" decided to call the church "Christ the King." On March 23rd, 1958 the first twenty-eight persons signed the congregational charter. The present property was purchased by the Ohio Synod, United Lutheran Church in America (which would later become part of the Southern Ohio Synod, Evangelical Lutheran Church of America in 1988). On April 6, 1958 the first services were held in the house/chapel on the new property.

On Pentecost Sunday, May 17, 1959, the 98 charter members of Christ the King were formally organized into a congregation of the Ohio Synod, United Lutheran Church in America. In November 1959 the congregation purchased its land from the Synod.

In 1961 ground was broken for the first unit, which is now the Sanctuary and part of the Narthex. The cornerstone was laid in January 1962 and that portion of the building was dedicated in October of the same year.

The Narthex was expanded, and the Fellowship Hall and office spaces were constructed. Those portions of the building were dedicated in June of 1982.

Two classrooms for all ages to grow in faith were completed in 2007. 

Our Current Staff

Reverend Deborah L. Gable


Susan Cesario


Mary Jo Gulisek


Find us

Copyright © All Rights Reserved

Quick links